Paleo Scotch Eggs and Skillet Sweet Potatoes

My official first post!
tumblr_me785fGg6u1qgjybho1_500

I was sick this past week with that plague that everyone seems to be getting and was in the mood for some comfort grub. This is the first time I have gotten this sick since I started paleo so my usual go-to comfort foods (grilled cheese and creamy tomato soup) were untouchable. However, you need to learn to work with what you have so I decided to make a good ol’ comfort meal with what I had lying around. Nothing says comfort like some classic breakfast food.

One of the biggest things I have learned in Paleo is the beauty of meal prep. Luckily, I enjoy the culinary arts and finding new ways to improve my caveman cooking skills (I am still an amateur when it comes to cooking on a pile of rocks and fire though :P). However, for those who don’t have the time to cook or enjoyment that comes along with it, this meal is a cinch!


Here is my Paleo Scotch Eggs and Skillet Sweet Potatoes:
Scotch Eggs:
-6 hard boiled eggs (best recipe I found is here: http://www.afamilyfeast.com/sunday-cooking-lesson-perfect-hard-boiled-eggs/)
-1 lb compliant chicken breakfast sausage (could use any type of ground sausage)
-1 tbs honey
-1 tsp cinnamon
-1 tsp nutmeg
IMG_0641
1. Preheat oven to 375 F
2. Mix together sausage, honey, cinnamon, and nutmeg in a bowl (be sure not to mix too much or meat will become tough).
3. Take about 1/3 cup of meat mixture in hand and make a cozy little bowl.
4. Place an egg (make sure it is dry) in your hand and form the meat around the egg making sure that everything is sealed.
5. Cover a baking sheet with foil or parchment paper and place eggs on the sheet.
6. Place baking sheet in the oven and cook for about 40-45 minutes or until golden brown making sure to turn halfway through.
Skillet Sweet Potatoes:
-1 Sweet Potato (#singlelife)
-1 Tbls Coconut oil (ghee would also work)
-1/2 Tbls Dried Parsley
-1/2 Tsp Crushed Red Pepper
-1/2 Tsp Sea Salt
-Pinch of Cracked Black Pepper
IMG_0642
1. Chop Sweet Potatoes into large chunks (I always hate when people give a specific measurement because ain’t nobody got time to measure their potatoes!) Just make sure the size is consistent.
2. In a medium sized skillet, heat up coconut oil and crushed pepper on medium heat.
3. Throw the sweet potatoes in the skillet and stir occasionally until desired crispness (I like mine on the extremely crispy side of the spectrum) .
4. Sprinkle salt, parsley, and cracked pepper on potatoes and stir.
5. Throw those suckers on a plate and chow down friends!
IMG_0639

I usually have a couple scotch eggs leftover to eat throughout the week for any meal. It is a GREAT grab and go snack. I paired mine with a nice glass of Gingerade Kombucha!
Another great thing about this meal is that it is Whole 30 compliant!
I hope that this post was helpful and you are trying new things on your journey through the primal lifestyle!
Cheers!
Rodney
Leave a Reply

